Sign Up for a Free Account

This is an image preview.
Start a Free Account
to view the full image.

  • Nearly 3,000 illustrations, including video clips of neurologic disorders.

  • Every article is reviewed by our esteemed Editorial Board for accuracy and currency.

  • Full spectrum of neurology in 1,200 comprehensive articles.

  • Listen to MedLink on the go with Audio versions of each article.

Divisions of the embryonic brain

(Left) The three-vesicle stage comprised, from rostral to causal, of the prosencephalon (forebrain), mesencephalon (midbrain), and rhombencephalon (hindbrain). (Right) The five-vesicle stage, in which the prosencephalon has divided into a cleaved telencephalon and the diencephalon. (Source: Nrets. Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.5 Generic License,