Sign Up for a Free Account

Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet (1899-1984)

Australian virologist Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet (1899-1984) recognized the existence of more than 1 type of poliovirus in 1931. Burnet won the Nobel Prize in Physiology of Medicine in 1961 for predicting acquired immune tolerance and was known for developing the theory of clonal selection. (Contributed by Dr. Douglas Lanska. Photograph by Denver Faingold. Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license.)

Related Media

Associated Disorders

  • Aseptic meningitis
  • Bulbar polio
  • Bulbospinal polio
  • Infantile paralysis
  • Nonparalytic polio
  • Paralytic polio
  • Polioencephalitis
  • Post-polio progressive muscular atrophy
  • Post-polio syndrome
  • Spinal paralytic polio