Sign Up for a Free Account

This is an image preview.
Start a Free Account
to view the full image.

  • Nearly 3,000 illustrations, including video clips of neurologic disorders.

  • Every article is reviewed by our esteemed Editorial Board for accuracy and currency.

  • Full spectrum of neurology in 1,200 comprehensive articles.

  • Listen to MedLink on the go with Audio versions of each article.

Subclavian artery and its branches

(1) Innominate (brachiocephalic) artery, (2) common carotid artery, (3) vertebral artery, (4) thyroid axis, (5) superior thyroid artery, (6) transversalis colli, (7) superficial cervical, (8) posterior scalular, (9) suprascapular, (10) superior intercistal, (11) deep cervical, (12) internal mammary (internal thoracic), (13) posterior scapular, and (15) ascending cervical. Other structures shown: (a) first rib, (b) scalenus anticus, (c) thyroid, (d) phrenic nerve, (e) vagus nerve, and (f) recurrent laryngeal nerve. (Contributed by Dr. Douglas Lanska. Source: Cunningham DJ. The Dissector’s Guide: Being a Manual for the Use of Students: Head and Neck. Edinburgh: Maclachlan and Stewart, 1887.)